Japanese multi-instrumentalist Cuushe experiments with airy electronics and layered vocals on Waken





Capturing the feeling of early morning uncertainty and hope.

Tokyo producer and multi-instrumentalist Cuushe is releasing a new album, called Waken, via Flau this November.

Moving away from the dream-pop sounds that defined previous releases, Waken sees Cuushe working with analog synths, distorted guitars, and “mille-feuille-layered choruses.”

Flau describes the album as capturing the spirit of an early morning: “You wake up from a dream. It’s still dark. You’re full of uncertainty, but also hope.”

Waken marks her first release since she detailed her abuse and harassment by artist Ametsub (Akihito Saitoh), which influenced the creation of the album.

It also follows her 2015 EP Night Lines.

Pre-order Waken here in advance of its 20th November release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Hold Half
2. Magic
3. Emergence
4. Not to Blame
5. Nobody
6. Drip
7. Beautiful
8. Spread

Photo by Joy Y. Ding