Count Ossie’s Rastafari masterpiece Grounation reissued on vinyl

Count Ossie’s Rastafari masterpiece Grounation reissued on vinyl




Master drummer’s opus back on vinyl after forty years.

Considered the pinnacle of Rastafari-inspired music, Count Ossie & the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari’s 1973 triple LP Grounation is set to be reissued on vinyl by Tokyo reggae institution Dub Store.

A pioneer of the Niyabinghi style of hand drumming, Ossie is joined here by tenor saxophonist Cedric ‘Im’ Brooks who together recreate a Rasta grounation, or gathering, playing and chanting a sublime supplication which includes hymns and Bible readings in praise of Emperor Haile Selassie I.

Originally released in 1973, Grounation has been out of print since it was reissued on MRR in Jamaica in 1976, the epic 30-minute title track the centre piece of the legendary recording. It follows Soul Jazz’s recent reissue of Ossie’s Tales From Mozambique (1975).

Due on the 9th September, the triple gatefold vinyl is released via Dub Store, who we featured in our run down of the world’s best record shops earlier this year. Check out the track list below:

Track List

01. Bongo Man
02. Narration
03. Narration Continued
04. Mabrat (Passin Thru)
05. Poem
06. Four Hundred Years
07. Poem
08. Song
09. Lumba
10. Way Back Home
11. Ethiopian Serenade
12. Oh Carolina
13. So Long
14. Grounation
15. Grounation Continued

Comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Sign up for The Cut

Get new release info, tech guides, artist features and more.