Coil to reissue final album The Ape Of Naples on vinyl



The New Backwards is also back in print.

Though Coil disbanded in 2004 after the death of Coil lead vocalist John Balance, The Ape of Naples was released a year later. Culled from Balance’s final recordings and combined with reused, manipulated samples of the band’s discography, the album became one of the most beloved releases in the industrial pioneers’ discography. Now, over a decade on, the swansong album is coming back to vinyl.

Important Records will also press up a fresh batch of The New Backwards, a 2008 sessions collection included in the original 4×12″ The Ape Of Naples’ box set. Both albums are now being pressed to red and black vinyl from the original plates approved by Coil’s other core member (and Throbbing Gristle founder) Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson, who passed away in 2010.

Scheduled to ship in July, pre-order the records here and here and revisit album opener ‘Fire Of The Mind’ below:

MORE: Unravelling Coil in 10 albums

[via FACT]