Brownswood collects sounds of Melbourne’s soulful underground on new LP Sunny Side Up



With influences ranging from jazz and RnB to house and broken beat.

Brownswood is releasing a new compilation showcasing music from Melbourne’s underground scenes called Sunny Side Up, this July.

Read more: The Record Sweep: Watch Gilles Peterson spend £100 on vinyl in 10 minutes

Recorded during a week spent at The Grove studio, Sunny Side Up was helmed by musical directer Silentjay, and engineered bay Nick Herrera.

The nine tracks incorporate “deep house, broken beat, cha-cha, samba, p-funk and soul,” shares Brownswood. “Unlike other cities with storied histories in jazz culture, the sound of Melbourne is free of any jazz customs to follow behind, leaving musicians free to incorporate hip hop, house or R&B. Jazz is the mindset, the output is infinitely diverse.”

It features contributions from artists and groups including members of 30/70 and Mandarin Dreams.

Sunny Side Up follows Brownswood’s We Out Here compilation, which captured a cross-section of London’s jazz-influenced musicians though nine original compositions.

Head here for more info on Sunny Side Up, listen to Dufresne’s ‘Pick Up / Galaxy’ and check out the tracklist below.


1. Phil Stroud – Banksia
2. Dufresne – Pick Up / Galaxy
3. Kuzich – There Is No Time
4. Audrey Powne – Bleeding Hearts
5. Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange – Powers 2 (The People)
6. Laneous – Nice To See You
7. Silentjay – Eternal / Internal Peace
8. Horatio Luna – The Wake-Up
9. Allysha Joy – Orbit

Latest Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp