Boyz n the Hood soundtrack reissued on double vinyl





“I ain’t from Africa, I’m from Crenshaw Mafia!”

The soundtrack to nineties classic Boyz n the Hood is getting its first vinyl reissue, this September via Qest.

Boyz n the Hood was first released in 1991 – a directorial debut from John Singleton as well as a screen debut for Ice Cube. The film also starred Cuba Gooding Jr., Morris Chestnut and Larry Fishburne. Singleton went on to direct Poetic Justic, 2 Fast 2 Furious and Abduction, the latter of which was his final film before he passed away in 2018.

The ground-breaking coming of age film was nominated for Best Director and Best Original Screenplay at the 64th Academy Awards, making Singleton the youngest person as well as the first African-American to be nominated for Best Director.

Boyz n the Hood’s soundtrack features a combination of hip hop, jazz, rnb and funk, including Ice Cube’s ‘How to Survive in South Central’, and Stanley Clarke’s ‘Black On Black Crime’.

Head here for more info in advance of its 27th September release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Ice Cube – How To Survive In South Central
2. Tevin Campbell – Just Ask Me To
3. Yo-Yo – Mama Don’t Take No Mess
4. CMW – Growin’ Up In The Hood

Side B

5. Main Source – Just A Friendly Game Of Baseball (Remix)
6. Tony! Toni! Toné! – Me & You
7. Monie Love – Work It Out

Side C

8. Kam – Every Single Weekend
9. Hi-Five – Too Young
10. 2 Live Crew – Hangin’ Out
11. Too $hort – It’s Your Life

Side D

12. Force One Network – Spirit (Does Anyone Care?)
13. Quincy Jones – Setembro
14. Stanley Clarke – Black On Black Crime