Beverly Glenn-Copeland returns with new album after almost 20 years





His first album since the Keyboard Fantasies renaissance.

Beverly Glenn-Copeland has announced his upcoming album, The Ones Ahead, out July 28.

The Ones Ahead is Glenn-Copeland’s first studio album in almost 20 years and draws on ‘traditions from American jazz to Irish fiddle songs to West African percussion’.

In 2021, contemporary artists including Arca, Blood Orange and Julia Holter reimagined his 1986 album, Keyboard Fantasies.

Hear the first single, “Africa Calling”, below.

“In the ‘80s I had the honour of performing with an incredible artist named Dido, a master of the drums indigenous to West Africa. The beauty of this drumming tradition is explored in ‘Africa Calling’. Over the years, in many conversations, I have come to understand that I share an undefinable, unnamed feeling — a calling — with many other members of the African diaspora, a bone-deep need to explore and express our heritage,” says Glenn-Copeland of “Africa Calling”.

“Alongside the grief, there is a longing to know our roots, hidden from us as family lines were torn apart in the terrible days of the trans-Atlantic slave trade. In a world still caught in the ties of colonialism, I know I am not alone in needing to heed the call of this generations-old longing.”

The Ones Ahead is available to pre-order now.


1. Africa Calling
2. Harbour (Song For Elizabeth)
3. Love Takes All
4. People Of The Loon
5. Stand Anthem
6. The Ones Ahead
7. Prince Caspian’s Dream
8. Lakeland Angel
9. No Other