Avalon Emerson & The Charm will release debut album this April





Hear the new single, “Hot Evening”, now.

Avalon Emerson is set to release the debut album for her new project Avalon Emerson & The Charm this April.

The self-titled debut will be released on April 28 via her new label Another Dove.

& the Charm was created when Emerson took an extended break from being a touring DJ. Though known for her love of dance music, the album also draws from pop-leaning influences such as Arthur Russell, Oppenheimer Analysis, Cocteau Twins and The Magnetic Fields.

Emerson has also dropped a new single from the album,”Hot Evening”, which follows on from “Sandrail Silhouette”. Check it out below.

“”Hot Evening” is a stamped passport. It’s a series of diary entries, home movies, and polaroids. It’s the moment of calm when 200 adults all partake in group snack time and nap time at 35 thousand feet. It’s seeing the same sun set over a new city skyline. It’s wondering if I’ve spent my youth on too many proverbial and literal moving sidewalks, going forward sure, but to where? and will there just be another long terminal to cross when I arrive?,” Avalon Emerson explains of the track.

“The sonic inspiration comes from somewhere between Todd Edwards, the Magnetic Fields, and the Chordettes. Unlike “Sandrail [Silhouette]”, where disparate sketches slid together into a final version quickly, “Hot Evening” hovered around 75% done for over a year, ebbing and flowing into different shades of complete until the final touches came together right at deadline.”

& the Charm is available to pre-order on black vinyl now, ahead of its April 28 release.


1. Sandrail Silhouette
2. Entombed In Ice
3. A Vision
4. Astrology Poisoning
5. The Stone
6. Dreamliner
7. Hot Evening
8. Karaoke Song
9. A Dam Will Always Divide