Alfa Mist explores solo piano improvisations on new 10”, On My Ones





Navigating his relationship with the instrument.

Pianist and producer Alfa Mist is releasing a new 10”, titled On My Ones, this February via his own Sekito imprint.

Read more: A guide to UK jazz

On My Ones sees Mist shunning additional instrumentation to focus on his relationship with the piano. “Although it’s largely improvised, I wouldn’t call it a solely a jazz project”, says Mist.

Originally from Newham, East London, Mist started off as a grime and hip-hop producer, with his sample digging exposing him to jazz sounds. Unable to take lessons at college, Mist began to teach himself the piano aged 17.

On My Ones follows Mist’s 2019 Structuralism LP, as well as his and Yussef Dayes’ collaborative 2018 Love Is The Message recording, released via The Vinyl Factory.

Head here for more info in advance of its 28th February release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. High Risk
2. Sorry
3. L4

Side B

1. Newham Village
2. Amigo
3. Withered