25 record shops you should follow on Instagram

25 record shops you should follow on Instagram

Share

Share

25-record-shops-you-should-follow-on-instagram

instagram cover

Having tipped a hat to the record collectors you need to follow on Instagram, it’s time we gave record shops some shine.


Words: Michael Wilkin


Record stores are the original tastemakers, tasked with curating a selection of vinyl that defines who they are and with providing a digging experience that can only be fully appreciated in the flesh.

But, in a world where the all encompassing Discogs delivers direct to your door, stores are finding new ways to bring some of that good ol’ fashion brick & mortar vibe to the digital realm.

Enter Instagram.

More than ever a record store’s Instagram feed represents the ideal vantage point to observe the nitty gritty of day-to-day operations and (more importantly) to source valuable insight direct from those who would know. They are the front-line – helping to cut through a swathe of cuts to deliver ever-dependable recommendations on a daily basis in picture form, from putting a spotlight on the best new releases, to flagging-up rarities when they show their heads.

Take a look at a look below at our curated selection of 25 record stores you should be following on Instagram.

Know of a record store with an amazing Instagram feed? Point us in their direction by commenting on our Instagram @thevinylfactory with your suggestions.


Groove Merchant, San Francisco / @groovemerchantsf

Some of that Nice Nice to start the weekend off properly. Going out today and all weekend.

A photo posted by Chris Veltri (@groovemerchantsf) on


Turntable Lab, New York City / @Turntablelabnyc


Phonica Records, London / @PhonicaRecords


Rush Hour, Amsterdam / @rushhourrecords

Photo: De Volkskrant

A photo posted by Rush Hour Music (@rushhourrecords) on


Pyramid Records, San Francisco / @pyramidrecords


Black Gold, Brooklyn / @blackgoldbrooklyn

Solid crate of jazz just in! #vinyl #blackgoldbrooklyn

A photo posted by Black Gold Brooklyn (@blackgoldbrooklyn) on


Amoeba Music, Los Angeles / @amoebahollywood

kyle h, smooth operator #sade #amoebamusic

A photo posted by Amoeba Hollywood (@amoebahollywood) on


Rough Trade, London / @roughtrade

40 years ago today, Rough Trade opened its doors for the very first time, on Kensington Park Road, West London.

A photo posted by Rough Trade (@roughtrade) on


A1 Records, New York City / @a1recordshop


Disk Union, Tokyo / @diskunion_shinjuku_soul


Kristina Records, London / @kristinarecords


HMV Record Shop, Tokyo / @hmvrecord


Rye Wax, London / @ryewaxrecords

These are the record's you were looking for. List imminent! #ryewax #records

A photo posted by @ryewaxrecords on


Oye Records, Berlin / @oyerecordstore_berlin

Back in: Kosi comes around by turntablist DJ Koze #pamparecords

A photo posted by OYE Records (@oyerecordstore_berlin) on


Mount Analog, Los Angeles / @mountanalog


Other Music, New York City / @other_music

#ryuichisakamoto and #macdemarco (Photo by Chad Kamenshine)

A photo posted by Other Music (@other_music) on


Northside Records, Melbourne / @northside_records


Idle Hands, Bristol / @idlehandsbs1

Finally here is the finished copies of Matt Karmil's LP for Idle Hands – officially out next week

A photo posted by Idle Hands (@idlehandsbs1) on


Revelation Time, Osaka / @revelation_time


Disco Paradiso / @discosparadiso

#paradisonews #cadaquesconexio #giuliolibano #ibizasound #finisafricae #library #bossajazz #hippypsych #balearic #ambient

A photo posted by Discos Paradiso (@discosparadiso) on


Waterloo Records, Austin / @waterloorecords


Analog Record Shop, Tustin CA / @analogrecordshop


Dusty Groove, Chicago / @dustygroove

Busy day! Happy Friday. #chicago #recordstore #dustygroove #vinyl #soul #funky #jazz #hiphop

A photo posted by Dusty Groove (@dustygroove) on


Permanent Records, Los Angeles / @permanentrecordsla

All these LPs and many many more are marked down up to 50% off at our Echo Park location! #vinyljunkies #vinyligclub #vinyl

A video posted by Permanent Records LA (@permanentrecordsla) on


Highgate Continental, Perth / @highgatecontinental

Stacks of new things in store this week – big parcels expected later this afternoon too! Come through, doors open until 7pm this eve 👋

A photo posted by Highgate Continental (@highgatecontinental) on

  • Aiman Zainal

    @Doitgoodrecords ,Brunei !

  • @vinylgourmet in Portugal!

    🙂

  • Cam Ashley

    Submerge Detroit!!!!!

  • Howard Phillis

    @coversvinylstore in Frome!

  • @rundgng Malmö, Sweden!

  • Beatriz Fregoneze

    @thesoundmachine in Reading