Premiere: Watch the primal video for No Zu’s punk funk track ‘Spirit Beat’

Premiere: Watch the primal video for No Zu's punk funk track 'Spirit Beat'

Share

Share

Australian disco outlaws go rogue in the bush.

Straddling the provocative spirit of downtown NYC, NO ZU have been high on our radars some some time now. Following up two tantalising EPs of tough and ruddy disco not disco, electrifying post-punk and Paradise Garage-ready jams, the six-piece just dropped their debut full length Afterlife on Chapter Music and have a new video to boot.

With the attitude of Grace Jones, the bravado of Arthur Russell’s leftfield Sleeping Bag productions and horn stabs that would make Quando Quango quiver, ‘Spirit Beat’ bottles the NO ZU sound, realised in surreal clarity by the ayahuasca-dream world of the video, which you can watch exclusively above.

NO ZU will also trail the album around Europe and the UK in May and June, with tour dates announced below. Order your copy of Afterlife now.

Fri 20 May – Russia – MOSCOW
Tues 24 May – UK – LEEDS – Headrow House
Wed 25 May – UK – GLASGOW – Hug & Pint
Thur 26 May – UK – MANCHESTER – Deaf Institute
Fri 27 May – UK – LONDON – Shacklewell Arms
Sat 28 May – France – NANTES (more details soon)
Sun 29 May – France – PARIS – Villette Sonique Festival
Tue 31 May – UK – LONDON (more details soon)
Wed 1 June – France – RENNES – Ubu Club
Thur 2 June – France – AMIENS – La Lune des Pirates
Fri 3 June – Switzerland – DUDINGEN – KILBI festival
Sat 4 June – France – NIMES – This Is Not A Love Song festival

And for those of you back in Australia, make sure to catch them at various album launch parties in the next month:

Thur Mar 24 – Wollongong – Waves Nightclub
Sun Mar 27 – Sydney – Newtown Social Club
Thur Apr 14 – Fremantle – Mojos
Fri Apr 15 – Perth – Babushkas
Sat Apr 16 – Adelaide – Rocket Bar
Sat April 23 – Melbourne – Max Watts