Christian Marclay at White Cube: Performances and The VF Press

Christian Marclay at White Cube: Performances and The VF Press

Share

Share

the-vinyl-factory-collaborates-with-christian-marclay-to-press-records-at-white-cube-show

The Vinyl Factory Press will press live performances straight to vinyl at multimedia artist Christian Marclay’s major solo White Cube exhibition which is now open.


Forthcoming Performances

Saturday 21 March: Nicolas Collins
Sunday 22 March: Okkyung Lee and London Sinfonietta
Saturday 28 March: Roger Turner
Sunday 29 March: Okkyung Lee and London Sinfonietta

Past Performances

Saturday 31 Jan: David Toop
Sunday 1 Feb: John Butcher and London Sinfonietta
Saturday 7 Feb: Singing Saw And Glass Harp Performance (lead by Christian Marclay)
Sunday 8 Feb: Thurston Moore & London Sinfonietta
Saturday 14 Feb: Mark Sanders
Sunday 15 Feb: Mica Levi & London Sinfonietta
Saturday 21 Feb: Rie Nakajima / Elliott Sharp
Sunday 22 Feb: Elliott Sharp
Saturday 28 Feb: Elaine Mitchener
Sunday 1 March: Steve Beresford

Performances start at 3pm and are free but spaces are allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis so arrive early.

The VF Press

The Vinyl Factory Press is in operation each Thursday and Friday during the exhibition, pressing performances from the previous weekend straight to vinyl.

Christian Marclay at White Cube

28 Jan – 12 April
Tuesday – Saturday, 10am – 6pm and Sunday, 12 – 6pm
Address: White Cube, 144-152 Bermondsey Street, London SE1 3TQ


Record Sleeves Marclay

Each performance will be recorded live and then pressed as records on site by The Vinyl Factory Press, the world’s first mobile vinyl manufacturing press, which is housed in a shipping container in the gallery for the duration of the exhibition. Following its debut at White Cube, The Vinyl Factory Press will travel to other events and cultural institutions in the coming months.

Featuring a vintage hydraulic hand press that is manually operated, plus all the elements required to power the press and make a record, audiences are able to witness on site the unique process of producing vinyl records, from the initial recording of the performances, to cutting and pressing the records and printing the cover artwork.

Working alongside The Vinyl Factory will be Coriander Studio, who will print unique silk-screened record sleeves designed by Marclay. The limited edition vinyl will retail at £25.00 and be available at White Cube and at vfeditions.com.

Check this page to stay up to date with the full programme as it is announced or receive information by emailing marclay2015@whitecube.com