20 record labels to follow on Instagram

20 record labels to follow on Instagram

Share

Share

20-record-labels-instagram

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-13-29-26

Having scoured the internet for the best record shops to follow on Instagram and scrolled ’til our fingers bled in search of the internet’s best ‘gramming collectors – we wouldn’t dare exclude one of our staples: record labels.


Words: Michael Wilkin


It’s pure gold to be able to get first-hand insight into the life and times of some of the world’s most forward-thinking and essential record labels, and it happens every day on Instagram.

Following a label you love gives you a direct line to new music and new artists, often before the record is off the press.

Of course, every label wants to push their own wares, but there’s much more to it than just that. Yes sir. Take Ninja Tune for example; beyond the standard release fare, there’s an array of punchy street photography, abstract art and general sensory goodness.

Then there’s your Dekmantel style; tour heavy labels with an incredible wealth of live and behind the scenes snaps to devour. All invaluable when you want to keep tabs on your favourite DJs.

Below we’ve complied a range of labels who absolutely kill it on Instagram, ranging from majors to garage dwelling labours of love.

Think we’ve missed one? Let us know in the comments section or give us a shout on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.


Warp Records / @warprecords

Mark Pritchard warming up for James Blake in Melbourne. : Kyleigh Pitcher

A photo posted by Warp Records (@warprecords) on


Ninja Tune / @ninjatunehq


XL Recordings / @xlrecordings


Brownswood Recordings / @brownswood

Broadcasting live from Los Angeles. George Clinton just popped in. @worldwide.fm

A photo posted by brownswood (@brownswood) on


Rough Trade / @roughtraderecords


Third Man Records / @thirdmanrecords


Mondo / @mondotees


Be With Records / @bewithwrecords

Be With Records x @spiritland | Saturday 22nd October 3pm-9pm

A photo posted by be with records (@bewithrecords) on


Sacred Bones / @sacredbones


Luaka Bop / @luakabop


Captured Tracks / @capturedtracks

Our office dog for the day! #Robby #specialboy

A photo posted by Captured Tracks (@capturedtracks) on


Stones Throw Records / @stonesthrow


Dekmantel / @dkmntl

Awanto3's temporary studio kicks ass. Have fun, Steven!

A photo posted by Dekmantel (@dkmntl) on


4AD / @4ad


Sub Pop Records / @subpop


Music From Memory / @music_from_memory

MFM tote bags up in the web store soon!

A photo posted by Music From Memory (@music_from_memory) on


Strut Records / @strutrecords


RVNG Intl. / @rvngintl


Mr Bongo / @mrbongowordwide


BBE Music / @bbemusic

Limited dub plates exclusively available @indielabelmkt tomorrow thanks @thecarverystudio @opoloposweden

A photo posted by BBE Music (@bbemusic) on